“ Wait this is An Election Year?”

Let me start off by saying I am a registered Democrat. I also am taking part in a reality television show as a part of my college curriculum about the American Dream (in fact its called The American Dream Project). It is about topics and issues that effect the nation, and how they effect the everyday citizen and college students. Now going into this show I don’t claim to be a political genius or something, but I can manage to hold my own when talking about politics. But I have some friends who couldn’t even tell you what political party our president is a part of, or they don’t know how often we elect a new president (for those of you who do not know President Barack Obama is a Democrat and we elect a new president every four years).

ImageThe one thing that really bothers me though, is the people who do not care about things like this, and would rather remain blissfully ignorant to situations in our nation. The type of people who do not care about the way decisions our government makes until it affects them, which is often too late to do anything. Is it not part of our responsibilities as American citizens, of voting age, to help take part in the way our nation is run? Is that not one of the things that should be expected of us, to be conscious to current events and news that could directly or indirectly effect the people? We should know, as Americans, what is being done with Healthcare or our national debt or our foreign policies. Many of my friends are quite content in life not knowing about anything in life and could care less about our nation. Many of them haphazardly try to pull information out of nowhere when I mention that I am going to be on a reality TV show about politics and American current events. They will fatally tell me that George Bush is still president and that the economic crisis of 2008 was just some person missing a few zero’s over at the local bank.

I am not here to say I have the same knowledge of Malcolm Gladwell or Ben Bernanke. In fact I am taking part in this TV show so I can learn a lot more about current issues. But what I am here to say is that it is our right and our duty as Americans to know something about these issues; so that when something happens that we do not like, we are able to defend ourselves and what we believe in. Well, at least that’s the way I see it.

Here is a link to the website for this TV show im on: http://myamericandream.us/index.php

So I leave you with this quote by Daniel J. Boorstin:

Freedom means the opportunity to be what we never thought we would be.

2 thoughts on ““ Wait this is An Election Year?”

  1. Kyle. Great post. I should first tell you that I am a Republican. I don’t know this but I can guess that we differ in opinions on may of the issues facing us today. That being said, It is truly refreshing to see that you are engaged.

    You are absolutely right that it is our duty as citizens of this great country to take part in this country’s struggle forward, in what ever direction that may be.

    As you are no doubt aware, we are presently entangled in a vicious non-cooperative spate of red versus blue. The divide is nearly equal and the result is ugly. I fully admit I am not much help in this regard as I feel almost nothing in common with the “other side”. This is not a new phenomenon. It does, however, seem more prevalent today that disagreement between left & right is the norm and compromise has become increasingly more difficult to come by.

    Back to your point though, any American of voting age NOT taking part in this discourse is guilty of turning their backs on freedom. Every one of us should be a part of the solution. Only a true majority can bring us out of this miasma. That cannot happen unless every citizen of age exercises their civic duty and not only votes, but votes responsibly. That means knowing the issues and understanding the consequences of choosing one direction over the other, then voting their conscience.

    As patriots, we must all then accept the majority rule and move on from there. This is how it was designed. It was and still is a good design.

    Thanks you Kyle for being a good American. Good luck on your show.

    • Thank you very much! I am glad to hear that there are others out there with such refreshing ideas as myself, even across party lines. In my mind bipartisanship is one of the keys to helping open voting age Americans to politics. If it was not constantly such a red versus blue battle, possibly more people will be willing to get involved. Thanks also for the well wishing, I will keep my readers in tuned to the happenings of the television show!

Leave a Reply

