The American Dream

I have been thinking a lot lately about what my version of the American Dream is. I dont quite know what type of image I am supposed to be conjuring up, in my mind. I know back in the 50’s it was a little suburban house, with a white picket fence out front, while in the early 2000’s it was a blacked out Suburban, with a white Cadillac in nestled inside your fenced community. I feel like the American Dream is an idea that is constantly changing, and ever evolving, to the point where I feel like there is no set ideal way of living in America.

You can be like Snooki, and want to party it up every night on the Shore, or you can be like Jane Goodall, and spend your entire life trying to learn as much as possible and benefit society or the entire Earth in a way that seems unimaginable. Both are vastly different and yet they are still someones dream of how to live. So this makes me wonder what my ideal of the American dream was. When I was little I wanted to be flithy-stinking rich and be Batman. When I was 13 I wanted a lot of kids and to be a history teacher. When I was 16 I wanted to be a Broadway star living atop New York City, going to swanky events and gala fundraisers. When I turned 18, I wanted to be a radio or TV personality reporting live from a red carpet as I talk with Natalie Portman about her recent Oscar win. This most recent one, is the thing that i’d still say whenever asked about the subject. But I know I can’t be a superhero, I know that if i try to become a star I would spend my life waiting tables, and I know I can only get to the red carpet by sheer chance. So my issue becomes, what do I want to do with my life?

This is my issue, as a college student I am supposed to be figuring out my future and what I want to do with my life. But I don’t know what that is yet, and it is freaking me out. I want so badly to find an end goal with my life, and be able to reach it. Hopefully I will find my American Dream, just not too late.

So I leave you with this quote today from Winston Churchill:

The empires of the future are the empires of the mind.

Leave a Reply

