A Summer Playlist with DJ Kyle Jay: Part 1

So I decided to create a playlist that is a must have collection of songs that are a necessity for any summer jam session. Not all of the songs are brand new or hit music, but for me they are always a must. There will be a second half at the end of the summer, and an all star list that will be compiled during a near 10 hour drive back to school. Mind you this is in no particular order, so do not yell at me for ordering. That will only come in the third installment.  So here is the list!

  1. King of Africa – Douster: What better way to start off any list than by one of the most anthemic movie openings of all time, Lion King!
  2. Call Me Maybe – Carly Rae Jepsen: Okay society I caved, i approve of this song. It was the vein of my existence when it was first released. But now I look at it as any beach or road trip staple. I put on a smile and enjoy the song just like everyone else.
  3. Primadonna – Marina and the Diamonds: I first found out about this band from one of my good friends. Now I can say that this song has become my personal theme song at the moment. I am absolutely infatuated with it.
  4. Wild Heart – Sabi: This was the the song to a season of Kourtney and Kim take New York a year back, and I have forgotten about it until recently. I can say I am now a huge fan of Sabi, who collaborates regularly and toured with Britney Spears, and I hope to see more from her in the future.
  5. Dance Again – Jennifer Lopez ft. Pitbull: Nobody gives Jennifer Lopez any credit. They write her off and don’t consider her a legitimate pop star, just because she acts and does a hell of a lot of other things. But as she has proved in recent years, every time she collaborates with Pitbull, it is absolutely mind blowing and earth shattering. She is a force to be reckoned with considering she is a single parent and a mogul.
  6. Some Nights – fun.: You would be an absolute fool to not listen to this band. The end.
  7. Night of Your Life – David Guetta ft. Jennifer Hudson: Only someone like David Guetta would be able to handle Jennifer Hudson’s massive voice and be able to make it shine over an equally as massive beat. This should be played in every single club on the East Coast.
  8. Bass Down Low – The Cataracs: I have to admit, i purchased this song while I was in a certain state of inebriation when my friend demanded I play it on the stereo. Then I was quick to ignore the song, but now I cannot get enough of the catchy beat and thumping bass that nearly blow out my speakers every time I play this song.
  9. Love On Top – Beyoncé: It wouldn’t be a DJ Kyle Jay playlist if there was not a Beyoncé song somewhere on it. And I feel this is the best one for this kind of list. It is just such a joyful modern love song, that I can’t NOT sing along to.
  10. Girl Gone Wild – Madonna: She has been making music for around 30 years now, and she has been successful at it this whole time. Her latest album M.D.N.A. caught a lot of slack in the music industry, but this song serves that she is at least doing something correct.
  11. Whip It – Nicki Minaj: This is one of the better songs on her over all piss poor album. The chorus is infectious and sounds amazing as you speed down the highway.
  12. Summerboy – Lady Gaga: Yes I know this song came out in 2008, and it is not even a single off of Lady Gaga’s first album The Fame, but it is the ultimate beach song. All about flings and having an all around good time.
  13. Where Have You Been – Rihanna: The beats that back up Rihanna’s strong vocals are insane. I could tell this would be the lead single off the album once it came out. It’s amazing.
  14. Chasing The Sun – The Wanted: This is my official unofficial going out song. It’s on repeat while I get ready. I can NOT get it out of my head.
  15. Part of Me – Katy Perry: The ultimate break up or post fight song that ever did exist, injected with as much sugar and confection as only Katy Perry could. Perfect for when you you just want to sub-sing at someone at the top of your lungs.
  16. We Run The Night – Havana Brown ft. Pitbull: This song sounds like every other song Pitbull is on. But the thing is, that is not a bad thing at all. The chorus puts the focus on the music and the beats instead of the lyrics, i love it.
  17. Pop Culture (Live) – Madeon: This basically sums up every reason why I love pop music so much.
  18. We’ll Be Alright- Travie McCoy: I know this song is a few years old. But come on, what adult out there doesn’t love this song! Its the ultimate song for being young and not caring about a damn thing.
  19. Bright Lights Bigger City – Cee Lo Green: I love this partially because its reminiscent of a far better time in music, the 70’s/80’s, and also because there is no music like Cee Lo Green’s. You can tell a song is distinctly his because of his unique musical styling. You can always tell a song is his, and they are always the best.
  20. Till The World Ends (Femme Fatale Remix) – Britney Spears Ft. Ke$ha and Nicki Minaj: This song is a perfect example of how collaborations and remixes can be far better than the original song. This song is also the perfect dance song.
2 thoughts on “A Summer Playlist with DJ Kyle Jay: Part 1

Leave a Reply

