A Summer Playlist with DJ Kyle Jay: Part 2

I figure now is as good a time as any to post a second list of music that I feel everyone should be looking into this summer. This summer is proving to be quite a valuable summer for music overall. There seems to be a developing theme of a surge of artists that prefer a supreme quality of their music over nauseating quantity of songs being thrown at music listeners. Therefore this list is far shorter, but the music is far more credible. So without further adieu here is a continuation of my list:

  1. Jumanji – Azealia Banks: Having recently released a new mix-tape, for free might I add, to her fans it is clear that she is a no nonsense rapper. I view her as a new and improved Nicki Minaj. By this I mean that she is doing everything right that Minaj does wrong, she isn’t trying to shock others to get attention, she is just doing what she loves and making sure her music counts. Expect a lot more from her in the coming months.
  2. National Anthem – Lana Del Rey: Everyone remembers her from her SNL gaffe towards the end of the spring season. She has brushed that off and is back to her music. The music video to this song is absolutely stunning, everyone should go and watch it immediately. It is an exquisite production in short film making, and the allusions to the JFK era are astounding. It doesn’t hurt that the song is really catchy.
  3. Power & Control – Marina & The Diamonds: A local newspaper reviewed Marina’s new album, Electra Heart, calling her a newer version of Katy Perry. This I agree with, what I don’t agree with is its claims that she is far worse off than Katy Perry. Now I am a huge fan of Katy’s sugary confection pop music, but Marina’s songs have an undeniable quality to them. Each and every lyric has be pumped with emotion and passion. While I doubt mainstream society will fully appreciate this quality in this music, I hope they will at least enjoy it.
  4. Glitter and Grease – Lady Gaga: If you saw Lady Gaga’s Monster Ball, then you will recall that this is the song that she used to open it with. Up until quite recently nobody could find a studio version of this song, because it was in fact an unreleased song. I am elated that people could finally find a high quality version of this song. It was always one of my favorite songs of hers, and it sounds great over car speakers, with the windows open, en route to the beach.
  5. Thinkin’ Bout You – Frank Ocean: I don’t think I have heard quality rap music like this in a long time. If you listen to Frank Ocean’s new album, Channel Orange, in one complete sitting it is an emotional roller coaster that you will be sure to aprove of.
  6. To You – Hudson: Hudson is the new band by younger brother of Katy Perry, David Hudson. His rock band released a free EP, and I think it’s safe to say that we found the more talented sibling of the family. It’s a shame that only being so new to the scene, I doubt he will get a chance to shine against his older sisters whipped cream bra’s.
  7. Bad Girls – M.I.A.: With an infectious chorus over a exotic beat this song is sure to help usher in a much needed M.I.A. revival.
  8. Wop – J Dash: This song has been around for a while apparently, I honestly don’t know much about it, but I love it. Some of my friends at school introduced it to me, and i love dancing to it. The end.
  9. Superstar – Madonna: I know, her new album M.D.N.A. is absolutely dreadful. But to me this song stands out the most, it has the high potential to stand along with one of her earlier hits.
  10. Timebomb – Kylie Minogue: My parents were the ones who were doing the Locomotion, now I am here jamming out to Timebomb. Not a single thing has changed with Kylie Minogue. And that is what is so great about this song, it’s just as amazing as her earlier stuff.
  11. Settle Down – No Doubt: It’s has been a decade in the making, the come back of No Doubt. And this come back is well worth the wait. With countless celebrities and pop stars obsessing over it as well, it feels like No Doubt never left the game. There music sounds the same as it did 10 years ago, which is probably part of the reason why it is so good.
  12. Blow Me (One Last Kiss) – P!nk: After a short reprieve of childbirth and living life, Pink is back to making her angst music and I love every second it. The song is so catchy and i’m sure it is only the beginning of this song.

Sorry I am cutting the list short, but I figured that getting you guys into all this new music was more important then holding off until the end of the summer. Just after I go back to school, I will be sure to give you guys a top 10 that you must have! I will leave you guys with a quote from Les Baxter:

Any good music must be an innovation.

Leave a Reply

